06 May 2006

National Anthem

[note: some words are in white colour so please to read this post just press cntrl+a{select all}]

The song Jana-gana-mana, composed by Rabindranath Tagore, was adopted by the Constituent Assembly as the National Anthem of India on January 24, 1950. It was first sung on December 27, 1911 at the Calcutta Session of the Indian National Congress. While the complete song consists of five stanzas, the first stanza constitutes the full version of the National Anthem.

The following is Tagore’s English rendering of the stanza: “Thou art the ruler of the minds of all people, dispenser of India’s destiny. They name rouses the hearts of Punjab, Sindh, Gujarat and Maratha, of the Dravida and Orissa and Bengal it echoes in the hills of the Vindhyas and Himalayas, Mingles in the music of Jamuna and Ganges and is chanted by the waves of the Indian Sea. They pray for thy blessings and sing the praise. The saving of all people waits in thy hand, thou dispenser of India’s destiny victory, victory, victory, victory to thee.”

Playing time of the full version of the National Anthem is approximately 52 seconds.

“ Jana-gana-mana-adhinayaka, jaya he

Tava shubha naame jaage
Tava shubha ashish maange
Gaaye tava jaya gaatha
Jaye-gana-mangala-daayaka jaya he
Jaya he, jaya he, jaya he
Jaya jaya, jaya, jaya he”

Atma-Sangeet….Our Anthem

I am an Indian

Thanks to CHYK
Ref: Awakening Indians To India