25 April 2006

It's Indian- {National Emblem}

The national emblem is an adaptation from the Sarnath, Lion Capital of Ashoka.

In the original, there are four lions, standing back to back, mounted on an abacus with a frieze carrying sculptures of an elephant, a galloping horse, a bull and a lion separated by intervening wheels over a bell-shaped lotus. Carved out of a single block of polished sandstone, the capital is crowned by the Wheel of the Law, Dharma Chakra.

In the state emblem adopted by the Government of India on January 26, 1950, only three lions are visible, the fourth being hidden from view. The wheel appears in the abacus with a bull on the right and a horse on the left, and the outlines of other wheels on extreme right and left.

It inspires us to march along the path of dharma slogging like bull yet remaining swift as a horse. The bell-shaped lotus has been omitted. The words Satyameva Jayate – from Mundaka Upanishad, meaning Truth Alone Triumphs- are inscribed below the abacus in the Devanagari script.

Mera Bharath Mahan

Thanks to CHYK.
Ref: Awakening Indians To India